Library Board

Markham Public Library Board


Markham Public Library operates under the terms of the Public Libraries Act.  The Library is governed by the Markham Public Library Board which consists of three members of Council and 12 citizen volunteers appointed by the City of Markham Council for a four year term.  Our Library Board members represent a broad spectrum of interests and professional backgrounds to ensure the library serves the entire community.

Library Board meetings are open to the public. Please contact to find out how to attend the meetings.

There are 8 meeting scheduled for 2023. 2023 Board Meeting Schedule[PDF], opens a new window.

2023 Agendas and Minutes

Board Meeting Date Agenda Minutes
November 27, 2023
October 23, 2023
September 26, 2023 (Tuesday)
June 26, 2023
May 29, 2023
April 24, 2023
March 27, 2023 Agenda [PDF], opens a new window
January 23, 2023 Agenda [PDF], opens a new window

2022 Agendas and Minutes

2021 Agendas and Minutes

Board Meeting Date Agenda Minutes
November 22, 2021 Agenda [PDF] Minutes [PDF]
October 25, 2021 Agenda [PDF] Minutes [PDF]
September 27,2021 Agenda [PDF] Minutes [PDF]
June 28, 2021 Agenda [PDF] Minutes [PDF]
May 31, 2021 Agenda [PDF] Minutes [PDF]
April 26, 2021 Agenda [PDF] Minutes [PDF]
March 22, 2021 Agenda [PDF] Minutes [PDF]
January 25, 2021 Agenda [PDF] Minutes[PDF]

Board Members

Term:  May 1, 2019 to November 30, 2022
(January 24, 2022)

  1. Margaret McGrory, Chair
  2. Raymond Chan, Vice-Chair
  3. Iqra Awan
  4. Edward Choi
  5. Deputy Mayor Michael Chan
  6. Ben Hendriks
  7. Councillor Ritch Lau
  8. Pearl Mantell
  9. Lillian Tolensky
  10. David Whetham
  11. Jay Xie

Margaret McGrory, Chair

Former VP, Executive Director, CNIB Library. Prior to this, a VP at the Toronto Stock Exchange and a Director at The Toronto Star. Resident of Unionville, Markham for over 25 years.

Board Member Raymond Chan

Raymond Chan, Vice Chair

Raymond Chan is the Manager of Government and Stakeholder Relations at the Electrical Safety Authority (ESA) of Ontario and brings over 15 years of public affairs experience to the library board. He resides in Markham Village with his family.

Board Member Iqra Awan

Iqra Awan

Iqra Awan has a background in human resources and is a professional makeup artist who runs her own business in beauty products.

Edward Choi

Edward Choi is a barrister and solicitor practicing law at Metcalfe, Blainey & Burns LLP, a local law firm in Markham.  A resident of Markham and an MPL member since 1995, he holds degrees in law and business

Deputy Mayor Michael Chan

Michael Chan is the Deputy Mayor of Markham.

Board Member Ben Hendricks

Ben Hendriks

Ben Hendriks is the Past-Chair of the Board and also a Past-President of the Ontario Library Board Association. Ben works in the Ontario Public Service as a Senior Consultant in the Office of the Chief Risk Officer.

Councillor Ritch Lau

Ritch Lau, Ward 2 Councillor, City of Markham.

Board Member Pearl Mantell

Pearl Mantell

Pearl Mantell is a retired secondary school English teacher and Guidance Counsellor.  One of the first things she did when moving to Thornhill in 1977 was get a library card, believing that  libraries are critical to the well- being of individuals and the greater community.

Board Member Lillian Tolensky

Lillian Tolensky

Lillian Tolensky is a retired teacher-librarian from the YRDSB. She has been an active resident of Markham for the past forty years.

Board Member Dave Whetham

David Whetham

David Whetham is a 20+ year resident of Markham.  He worked in the financial industry as a portfolio manager for several institutions.  He is currently a part time instructor, teaching courses on investing.

Jay Xie

Jay Xie is the Manager of Government Relations at the Art Gallery of Ontario.  He and his family have lived in Markham for over 15 years.

Back to Top